Sunday, May 28, 2017

Clemson named a regional host

Clemson was one of 16 regional hosts sites announced Sunday night for the 2017 NCAA Division I Baseball Tournament.

The Tigers are among five ACC teams named to host regionals. The eight national seeds and regional schedules will be announced at noon Monday on ESPN2.

Joining Clemson (39-19) as regional hosts from the ACC are Florida State, Louisville, North Carolina and Wake Forest. Louisville and UNC are expected to be national seeds.

Four regional hosts are from the SEC: Arkansas, Florida, Kentucky and LSU. Florida and LSU are expected to be national seeds, with Kentucky also thought to be in contention.

Completing the regional hosts are Houston, Long Beach State, Oregon State, Southern Mississippi, Stanford, TCU and Texas Tech.

The 16 winners of the double-elimination regionals advance to eight best-of-three super regionals the following weekend. Super Regional winners form the field for the College World Series in Omaha later in June.


No comments: